Skip navigation

The Bumbee, near side

The Far side ….

One of my goals in fly dressing was and still is the control of bronze mallard. All I can say is that I am on the way. This fly, the Bumbee one of the lesser known patterns from Pryce-Tannatt has what is described as a mallard wing, set horizontally. To me that means parallel to the hook shank. Other than a Spey type wing this is how I like to think this is what the author meant. To mount the wings atop of the shank would lead to a more upright wing and hence I have used the “soft loop” technique to mount the wings slightly on the side of the hook. I think the final wing, front and back looks nice. I was a little concerned about the heavy throat, but it balances the wing and tail, so I’m happy for now

Waxy threads

Paul

Leave a Reply

